Chipotle is one of the most popular food chains in the world, so it is no surprise that thousands of users have asked us if it is halal.
Chipotle was founded in Colorado by Steve Ells, in 1993.
It is focused on Mexican food.
Chipotle has over 2,900 branches worldwide. It generates over $7 billion worldwide.
In short, Chipotle is huge and popular!
Popular Menu items
Some of the popular items on the Chipotle’s menu are:
- Carnitas Burrito
- Burrito Bowl with Chicken
- Barbacoa Tacos
We are getting hungry just looking at these! There are so many other delicious items on the menu that you can check out on their website www.chipotle.com.
Chipotle has over 2,900 branches worldwide.
Chipotle UK is not halal. This has been confirmed by the restaurant on the Chipotle UK Twitter account, which says: “We do not have Halal meat at our restaurants.”
Chipotle also does not serve halal meat in North America.
However, there are numerous non-meat items on the menu that are safe for consumption by Muslims.
So, what’s the halal verdict?
Chipotle is not halal in North America or the UK!
Obviously there are many non-meat items on the Chipotle menu which halal observers can consume, such as their
- Beverages – including Margaritas
- Veggie dishes such as: Vegetarian Bowl / Burrito and Meat Free Salad, Vegetarian Tacos & Salads
- Chips such as: Chips & Guacamole, Chips & Tomato Salsa, and Chips & Roasted Chilli-Corn Salsa, and
- Snacks such as Cheese Quesadilla (w/o meat).
You should always verify the halal status with the restaurant directly just to be sure!
Restaurants change their meat suppliers and their policies constantly.
Furthermore, individual franchise locations change ownership all the time. So one location’s owner can use halal meat but can sell it to a new owner who chooses not to. So, to make sure that you have the latest information — reach out to the establishment!