Dunkin’ Donuts is one of the most popular food chains in the world, so it is no surprise that thousands of users have asked us if it is halal.
About Dunkin’ Donuts
Dunkin’ was founded in Quincy, Massachusetts by Bill Rosenberg in 1950.
It is focused on Coffee and baked goods.
Dunkin’ Donuts has over 11,000 branches worldwide. It generates over $20 billion worldwide.
In short, Dunkin’ Donuts is huge and popular!
Popular Menu Items
Some of the popular items on the Dunkin’ Donuts menu are:
- Wake-Up Wrap — made-to-order with your choice of protein, egg, and cheese!
- Donuts — come in a variety of flavors, so there’s a favorite for everyone!
- Hot Coffee — made from high-quality 100% Arabica beans and is freshly ground and brewed continually throughout the day!
We are getting hungry just looking at these! There are so many other delicious items on the menu that you can check out on their website www.dunkindonuts.com!
Dunkin’ Donuts is mainly known for its coffee, beverages, and donuts – most of which don’t fall under the category of halal or haram.
Beverages that don’t have alcohol e.g. Coffee are safe for consumption by Muslims.
Similarly, donuts that have no gelatin in their frosting are safe to consume as well.
However, the meat used by Dunkin’ in North America in their breakfast dishes is not from a halal source!
In Muslim countries like Pakistan and UAE, Dunkin’ offers a 100% halal menu, catering to the local demand.
Dunkin’ Donuts Malaysia is also 100% certified halal! According to an official company statement, in Malaysia “All our products are in compliance with halal standards.”
So, what’s the halal verdict?
Dunkin’ Donuts is not halal in North America!
However, in Muslim countries like Pakistan and UAE, Dunkin’ offers a 100% halal menu!
Dunkin’ is also certified halal in Malaysia!
Obviously, there are many non-meat items on the Dunkin’s menu that halal observers can consume, such as their
- Desserts – such as their Donuts
You should always verify the halal status with the restaurant directly just to be sure!
Restaurants change their meat suppliers and their policies constantly.
Furthermore, individual franchise locations change ownership all the time. So one location’s owner can use halal meat but can sell it to a new owner who chooses not to. So, to make sure that you have the latest information — reach out to the establishment!