Starbucks is one of the most popular food chains in the world, so it is no surprise that thousands of users have asked us if it is halal.
Starbucks was founded by Jerry Baldwin, Gordon Bowker, and Zev Siegl, opening its first store in 1971 near the historic Pike Place Market in Seattle.
In 1987, Starbucks entered the Canadian market with its first international location in Vancouver.
Starbucks is focused on Coffee.
It has over 33,000 branches worldwide. It has over 15,000 branches in the US and around 1,400 branches in Canada!
It generates over $26 billion worldwide.
In short, Starbucks is huge and popular!
Popular Menu Items
Some of the most popular items on the Starbucks menu are:
- Coffees, Teas & Blended Beverages — Chai Latte & Pumpkin Spice Latte are some of the most loved items!
- Breakfast Specials — Spinach, Feta & Egg White Wrap, Kale & Mushroom Egg Bites
- Oatmeal & Yogurts — Berry Trio Parfait
We are getting hungry just looking at these! There are so many other delicious items on the menu that you can check out on their website www.starbucks.com
Starbucks outlets are not certified halal in North America. However, there are many items on the menu especially beverages that are safe for consumption by Muslims as they contain no haram ingredients.
In the MENA region, Starbucks has tailored halal menu items to the local customer, with some including:
So, what’s the halal verdict? Is Starbucks halal?
Starbucks is not certified halal in North America!
Starbucks in the Middle East and North Africa region is halal and even has some halal meat items on the menu!
Also – Starbucks Malaysia is certified halal!
But whether the branches are fully certified halal or not, in every Starbucks outlet there are many food and beverage items that are ok for Halal observers to consume.
You should always verify the halal status with the restaurant directly just to be sure!
Restaurants change their meat suppliers and their policies constantly.
Furthermore, individual franchise locations change ownership all the time. So one location’s owner can use halal meat but can sell it to a new owner who chooses not to. So to make sure that you have the latest information — reach out to the establishment!