McDonald’s is one of the most popular food chains in the world, so it is no surprise that thousands of users have asked us if it is halal.
McDonald’s was founded in California by the McDonald’s Brothers in 1954.
But it was Ray Kroc who partnered with the brothers at first, bought them out and then made McDonald’s the global brand it is today.
McDonald’s has over 39,000 branches worldwide. It has almost 14,000 branches in the US, and around 1,400 branches in Canada! McDonald’s generates over $21 billion worldwide.
In short, McDonald’s is huge and popular!
Popular Menu Items
Some of the most popular items on McDonald’s menu are:
- Big Mac — the special-sauce-loaded, sesame-seed-bun-surrounded burger concoction is named after the franchise itself.
- Fries — there is a secret ingredient that makes McDonald’s fries so addictive.
- Chicken Nuggets — McDonald’s introduced its Chicken McNuggets in 1980 and they’ve been a bestseller ever since.
We are getting hungry just looking at these! There are so many other delicious items on the menu that you can check out on their website www.mcdonalds.com!
McDonald’s is available in many Muslim countries like Saudi Arabia, Turkey, and Pakistan, among others. In these countries, McDonald’s is fully halal.
Additionally, in some non-Muslim majority countries like India and Germany, there are halal branches of McDonalds.
Finally, McDonald’s does offer halal chicken in Australia.
However, McDonald’s does not serve any certified Halal meat in the United States, Canada, or UK as of 2022.
Interestingly McDonald’s did have Halal products in the US for 12 years up until the year 2013, but it does not any more.
McDonald’s is not Halal in North America and the UK!
However, McDonald’s is halal in the Muslim countries where it operates and there are some halal branches in a few non-Muslim countries.
You should always verify the halal status with the restaurant directly just to be sure!
Restaurants change their meat suppliers and and their policies constantly.
Furthermore, individual franchise locations change ownership all the time. So one location’s owner can use halal meat, but can sell it to a new owner who chooses not to. So to make sure that you have the latest information — reach out to the establishment!