Subway is one of the most popular food chains in the world, so it is no surprise that thousands of users have asked us if it is halal.
Subway was founded in Bridgeport, Connecticut by Fred DeLuca and financed by Peter Buck in 1965.
It is focused on Sandwiches.
Subway has over 37,000 branches worldwide. It generates over $16 billion worldwide.
In short, Subway is huge and popular!
Popular Menu Items
Some of the popular items on the Subway menu are:
- Steak & Cheese — it’s different from a classic Philly cheese-steak, but it contains all the same flavors.
- Meatball Marinara — since it first entered the Subway menu, this sandwich has been the company’s showstopper.
- Italian B.M.T — if you prefer your sub served cold, then you have to try the Italian B.M.T!
We are getting hungry just looking at these! There are so many other delicious items on the menu that you can check out on their website www.subway.com.
Subway is present in some Muslim countries such as Turkey and Pakistan where its menu is 100% halal.
About 10% of Subway chains in the UK exclusively use halal meat. In fact a total of 202 out of 2000 stores in the UK serve halal meat.
All halal Subway stores have numerous signs stating that they serve halal food. In these stores, pork is substituted with Turkey meat.
Unfortunately, the same is not true for Subway in North America!
As of 2022, no US Subway currently officially offers halal meat products or halal menu options.
According to their website, Subway has no plans to change this and offer halal meat products or open any halal-serving restaurants within the US.
So what’s the halal verdict?
Subway is not halal in North America!
However, in Muslim countries like Pakistan and Turkey, Subway offers a 100% halal menu!
202 out of the 2000 Subway stores in the UK also offer a fully halal, pork-free menu!
Obviously, there are many non-meat items on the Subway menu which halal observers can consume, such as their
- Veggie sandwiches
- Beverages – such as their Simply Lemonade and Gatorade Cool Blue
- Desserts – such as their Chocolate Chip and Oatmeal Raisin Cookies, and
- Snacks such as Chips and Veg Wraps.
You should always verify the halal status with the restaurant directly just to be sure!
Restaurants change their meat suppliers and their policies constantly.
Furthermore, individual franchise locations change ownership all the time. So one location’s owner can use halal meat but can sell it to a new owner who chooses not to. So, to make sure that you have the latest information — reach out to the establishment!