Wendy’s is one of the most popular food chains in the world, so it is no surprise that thousands of users have asked us if it is halal.
Wendy’s was founded in Columbus by Dave Thomas in 1969.
It is focused on Burgers.
Wendy’s has over 7,000 branches worldwide. It generates over $1 billion worldwide.
In short, Wendy’s is huge and popular!
Popular Menu Items
Some of the most popular items on Wendy’s menu are:
- Dave’s Double Hamburgers — a half-pound of fresh beef, American cheese, crisp lettuce, tomato, pickle, ketchup, mayo, and onion on a toasted bun.
- Spicy Chicken Nuggets – since their revival in August of 2019, they’ve been a big hit, and it’s safe to say that they will probably be around for the long haul.
- Spicy Chicken Sandwich — a juicy chicken breast marinated and breaded in our unique, fiery blend of peppers and spices!
We are getting hungry just looking at these! There are so many other delicious items on the menu that you can check out on their website www.wendys.com!
Wendy’s is present in some Muslim countries, where its menu is 100% halal.
In fact, Wendy’s in Dubai (which is completely halal) has a slightly different menu than its menu in the USA.
For instance, there’s no Baconator, Instead, there’s a burger called the Beefanator. While this burger does contain bacon, it’s actually bacon made from smoked beef.
In North America, Wendy’s hamburger meat is not sourced from halal suppliers, and this has been confirmed by Wendy’s official Twitter account.
Some easy options at Wendy’s that are meat-free are most of the salads. Other options include fries, baked potatoes, apple bites, Jr. cheeseburger with no meat patty, breakfast seasoned potatoes, and Frosty’s desserts. These are Wendy’s menu options that might be halal.
So, what’s the halal verdict? Is Wendy’s halal?
Wendy’s is not halal in North America!
These are Wendy’s options that are most likely halal-friendly as they contain no meat.
However, in Muslim countries such as Indonesia and the UAE, Wendy’s is halal.
You should always verify the halal status with the restaurant directly just to be sure!
Restaurants change their meat suppliers and their policies constantly.
Furthermore, individual franchise locations change ownership all the time. So one location’s owner can use halal meat but can sell it to a new owner who chooses not to. So to make sure that you have the latest information — reach out to the establishment!