IHOP is one of the most popular food chains in the world, so it is no surprise that thousands of users have asked us if it is halal.
IHOP is an American multinational restaurant chain that specializes in American breakfast foods.
It was founded in Glendale California by Jerry Lapin, Al Lapin Jr. and Albert Kallis, in 1958.
IHOP has over 1,800 branches worldwide. It generates over $3 billion annually.
In short, IHOP is huge and popular!
Popular Menu Items
Some of the popular items on the IHOP menu are:
- Original Buttermilk Pancakes – topped with whipped real butter.
- Original French Toast – topped with whipped real butter and dusted with powdered sugar.
- The Classic Burger – contains American cheese, lettuce, tomato, red onions, pickles and IHOP sauce.
We are getting hungry just looking at these! There are so many other delicious items on the menu that you can check out on their website www.ihop.com!
IHOP, short for International House of Pancakes, is an American multinational diner. IHOP’s main menu is pancakes – generally a non-meat item.
That said, in addition to pancakes, IHOP has on its menu Burgers, Sandwiches, Breakfast items, Burritos and other meat products. These menu items are not halal.
One of the IHOP branches in Fullerton, California that is owned by a Muslim, introduced an exclusive halal menu for Ramadan back in 2009. Ashraf, the owner, also decided to sell halal-certified Turkey bacon for the first time at his restaurant.
Since then, the menu has become popular among Muslims living in the area through word-of-mouth.
As a result, the owner has decided to keep the halal menu year-round in 2022.
Moreover, he also extended some of the items to his Tujunga California location, which will also now have them year-round.
So, the following two locations of IHOP offer an exclusive halal menu:
- Fullerton – 151 W Orangethorpe Ave, Fullerton, CA
- Tujunga – 6520 Foothill Blvd, Tujunga, CA
As for all the other locations of IHOP in North America, customers should confirm the availability of halal options from the restaurant.
In Muslim countries like Pakistan and UAE, IHOP offers a 100% halal menu!
So, what’s the halal verdict – Is IHOP halal?
IHOP offers an exclusive halal menu at 2 of its locations in California, USA.
In all of the other locations in North America, IHOP does not specify the availability of halal options on its website or social media. However, customers can always verify with the restaurant directly.
Obviously there are many non-meat items on the IHOP menu which halal observers can consume, such as their:
- Pancakes – Original Buttermilk Pancakes, Double Blueberry Pancakes
- Beverages – such as Fruit Juices, Milkshakes, Mango Lemonade Splasher
- Desserts – such as their Belgian Waffles, Seasonal Fresh Fruit, and
- Snacks such as their Crispy Potatoes, Mac & Cheese and Mozza Sticks
You should always verify the halal status with the restaurant directly just to be sure!
Restaurants change their meat suppliers and their policies constantly.
Furthermore, individual franchise locations change ownership all the time. So one location’s owner can use halal meat but can sell it to a new owner who chooses not to. So, to make sure that you have the latest information — reach out to the establishment!